Welcome to Threlkeld Quarry and Mining Museum

 

The Museum is open daily from 10 am - 5 pm.

 

Today's trains are steam  hauled and run on the hour from 11am until 3pm.

Tomorrow Friday24th Trains at 11am 1pm and 3pm only

 

Guided underground tours are at 11.30 am, 1.30 pm and 3.30 pm.

 

 

 

If you would like to see what else is happening at the Museum please 'like' us on Facebook

 

 

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Threlkeld-Quarry-and-Mining-Museum/1492689190977462

 

Ruston Proctor 306 - built 1909

The Oldest Surviving Steam Excavator in the World - returned to service 16/17 May.

STEAM GALA UPDATE

The visiting locos coming to our Gala are

 

- Hugh Napier and Lilla from the Ffestiniog Railway

- Marchlyn and Sybil Mary from Stafold Barn Farm

- 1238 (as Bronllwyd) and Stanhope from the Mosley Railway Trust

 

There will be a visiting Steam Navvy from Statfold as well. This means that there will be two steam navvies working together for the first time in a while.

 

There is a photographic charter being organised by Martin Creese (30742 Charters) taking place on the Thursday afternoon and all day Friday prior to the Gala weekend. If you are interested please click on the following link.

 

http://us3.campaign-archive1.com/?u=ac6d7fc8d601f37d6771757c6&id=83c00913aa

 

 

 

Steaming dates and events for 2015

Below are the dates of when 'Sir Tom' will be in steam and of other events during 2015. Special events are in bold. Please note that steamings are subject to locomotive availabilty and that 'Sir Tom' may be used on additional days.

 

 

18th July - 31st August

 

25th - 26th July - Annual Steam Gala to feature 6 visiting steam locos (more details to follow). A frequent service will operate and there will be demonstration freight trains too!

 

19th - 20th September - Vintage Excavator Demonstration Weekend. Come and see a selection of our machines working doing the job that they were built for!

 

24th October - 1st November

 

 

Introducing our new caving system!

We are happy to announce the latest edition to our facilities here at the Threlkeld Mining Museum. Explore the tunnels in our artificial caving system as you burrow though the underground passages. exploring cave feature and artwork. 

 

Please contact us for further details.

The Threlkeld Quarry & Mining Museum is situated three miles east of Keswick, in the heart of the breathtaking Lake District in Cumbria.

 

The quarry and museum have been lovingly run by our knowledgeable and dedicated staff for more than ten years, and the site continues to expand through the dedication of the staff and volunteers.

 

 

 

 

The museum is open 7 days a week from Easter to October.

 

 

 

 

For more information and bookings please contact us on:

Tel: 01768 779747/ Email: threlkeldquarrymuseum@btconnect.com

The museum offers activities for all the family, from budding geologists to hopeful prospectors. It includes:

 

  • An underground tour of a realistic mine experience (Please note, mine tours are weather and staff dependent please phone before arrival to check a mine tour is scheduled) 
  • A comprehensive geological and mining museum
  • The quarry site with a unique collection of machinery
  • Mineral panning
  • School  or student groups welcome by arrangement (see our schools section for more details)
  • Ample free parking, shop and hot and cold drinks